Milestones and company info

[About Petzl]



1936 : Fernand Petzl and Pierre Chevalier meet. Together, these two cavers from Grenoble will revolutionize vertical progression methods in their field.

1943 : A nylon rope designed by Pierre Chevalier is first tested as a replacement for caving ladders.

1950 : Fernand Petzl and others explore the Berger Cavern in France. It is the first 1000 meter cave descent in history.

1968 : Our first rope ascenders and descenders (BASIC, SIMPLE) are brought to market under the name "Produits Fernand Petzl" (Fernand Petzl Products).

1973 : The first Petzl mountaineering headlamp is invented.

1975 : Petzl establishes its headquarters in Crolles, France. This is the beginning of Petzl manufacturing and the Petzl brand.

1977 : The first Petzl harnesses are produced.

1981 : Introduction of the ZOOM headlamp.

1986 : Establishment of the R&D department and the test tower. Creation of Team Petzl.

1990 : First products designed specifically for the professional market.

1991 : Opening of a subsidiary in the USA. First self-braking belay device: the GRIGRI.

1998 : The TIBLOC, an ultra-compact rope ascender, is introduced.

2000 : acquisition of ice axe and crampon manufacturer Charlet Moser. TIKKA, first LED headlamp.

2002 : First leashless ice axe with angled grip: the QUARK ERGO.

2004 : Introduction of the ASAP mobile fall arrester.

2006 : Creation of the Petzl Foundation.

2008 : Creation of V.axess, Petzl's training and experimentation center.

2010 : Opening of Petzl Manufacturing in Malaysia. Introduction of the PIXA, the first professional headlamp.

2011: The first Petzl RopeTrip.

2012: Introduction of the NAO headlamp with Reactive lighting technology.



Company info


2012 sales
Locations Employees Certification International distribution
105 million Euros, 80% outside France - headquarters:
Crolles (France)
- production sites: 
Crolles, Rotherens, Eybens (France), Petzl Manufacturing Malaysia
- subsidiary company : Petzl America
550 Iso 9001 Arab Emirates, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Benelux, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, North America, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Reunion, Romania, Russia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Venezuela.